Eligibility for EHA housing assistance is based on income, age, disability, and citizenship/immigration status.  Demand for subsidized housing greatly exceeds the housing we have available, so these units and vouchers are filled via waiting lists, which are opened periodically.

Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8) and Project-Based Voucher Eligibility

Applicants need to meet several requirements to be eligible for a Housing Choice Voucher (commonly known as Section 8).  EHA verifies eligibility when the applicant comes to the top of the waiting list.


At the time an applicant comes to the top of the waiting list, their total household income must not exceed 50% of the area median income.  In addition, preference may be given to households with incomes that do not exceed 30% of area median income. Income limits are updated annually. Current income limits are as follows:

Number of Persons in Household Extremely Low Income (30% of Median) Very Low Income (50% of Median)


$28,800 $47,950


$32,900 $54,800


$37,000 $61,650


$41,100 $68,500


$44,400 $74,000


$47,700 $79,500


$51,000 $84,950


$54,300 $90,450

Criminal History

EHA screens all adult members of applicant households when they come to the top of the waiting list for criminal history.  EHA is required to deny housing to any applicant who:

  • Is subject to a lifetime registration requirement for sexual offense in any state
  • Has been convicted of manufacture or production of methamphetamine on the premises of federally assisted housing
  • Has been evicted from federally-assisted housing in the last 3 years for drug-related criminal activity
  • Has been convicted of violent or drug-related criminal activity, criminal activity that may threaten the health, safety, or right to peaceful enjoyment by other residents, or that threatens the safety of EHA/property staff, in the last 3 years

Citizenship/Immigration Status

An applicant does not need to be a United States citizen to apply for housing, but does need to be a citizen or have eligible immigration status to receive housing.  If at least one member is eligible, the family may qualify to receive prorated housing assistance.  Click here for a list of eligible immigration statuses that a non-citizen may have to qualify for federal housing assistance.

Debts Owed to Housing Authorities

EHA is required to deny housing assistance to households who owe money to EHA or another housing authority until the debt is repaid in full.  EHA checks each adult household member against a national database of debts owed to housing authorities at the time the household reaches the top of the waiting list.

Past Termination from Federally-Assisted Housing

EHA will deny applications if any member of the household has been terminated from federally assisted housing, including the Housing Choice Voucher (Section 8) program, in the last 3 years.

EHA Housing Eligibility

Applicants for EHA housing must meet applicable income, credit/rental history, and criminal history requirements.  In addition, if the unit is subsidized, the Housing Choice Voucher eligibility requirements also apply.

For affordable housing units without rental subsidy, the income limit is generally 50-60% of the area median income, and minimum income to qualify for these properties is generally two times the monthly rent.

Verification of eligibility is conducted when the household reaches the top of the waiting list.